National Curriculum

  • National Curriculum From Year 1-6.

    There are two principal aims and four main purposes set out in the National Curriculum:
    Aim 1: The school curriculum should aim to provide opportunities for all pupils to learn and to achieve.
    Aim 2: The school curriculum should aim to promote pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development and prepare all pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of life.
    • Purpose 1: To establish an entitlement
    • Purpose 1: To establish standards
    • Purpose 1: To promote continuity and coherence
    • Purpose 1: To promote public understanding
    The Subjects that are covered are:
    English, Mathematics, Science, Art & Design, Citizenship, Geography, History, Information & Communication Technology, Modern Foreign Languages (French), Music, Physical Education and Religious Studies